History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog


Salva Kiir Mayardit (2011)

First Vice-President

Taban Deng Gai (2016)

Second Vice-President:

James Wani Igga (2016)

Leader of the Opposition

N/A Government of National Unity in place

Main Political Parties

  • African People’s Progressive Alliance
  • Labour Party South Sudan – LPSS
  • South Sudan Democratic Forum
  • South Sudan Liberal Party
  • Sudan African National Union
  • Sudan People’s Liberation Movement – Democratic Change.
  • Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM)
  • United Democratic Front


A presidential federal republic. Government of National Unity formed as part of the peace agreement that ended the civil war of 2013-2015. However, there was renewed fighting in July 2016 and Dr. Riek Machar Teny Durgon, the first Vice-President fled the capital. He was fired when he refused to return to Juba.

History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog