History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog


Uhuru Kenyatta (2013)

Deputy President

William Ruto (2013)

Leader of the Opposition

Raila Odinga  (2013)


The Republic of Kenya is a hybrid centralized federal union 47 Counties. The term used for this quasi-federal arrangement is Ugatuzi or Devolution. The original word for this process is Majimbo, which made its first appearance in the political arena as Kenya prepared for independence in 1963.  However, Majimbo is so fraught with controversy that many politicians prefer to stay clear of it and use the English word instead.

There is a full  Ministry of Devolution and Planning with a brief to “provide leadership, coordination, an enabling environment for planning, transformed public service delivery and management of devolved system of government,” the central government retains enormous control on the functions and fiscal policies of the Counties.

The Executive consists of a President,  Deputy President and not less than 14 and not more than 22 Cabinet Secretaries.  The Cabinet Secretaries cannot be members of parliament.

The country is a multi-party parliamentary democracy. The Parliament of Kenya is a bicameral house consisting of the National Assembly and the Senate. The members of the National Assembly are referred to as Members of Parliament (MP) while the Members of the Senate are referred to as Senators. Both the MPs and Senators serve a 5-year term. As of April 30, 2012, twenty four political parties had gained registration certificates.Twenty-two others had applied for registration.

Main registered parties

Federal Part of Kenya (FPK),

Kenya African National Union(KANU),

The National Alliance  (TNA),

National Rainbow Coalition (NARC),

Orange Democratic Movement of Kenya (ODM),

United Democratic Forum Party (UDF),

United Reform Party(URP),

Wiper Democratic Movement – Kenya


The Judiciary , headed by the Chief Justice, is the third arm of the government. The Supreme Court of Kenya made a precedent-setting ruling on September 1, 2017 nullifying the declared results of the presidential elections and ordering fresh elections to be held within 60 days of that ruling. This was a first in Africa and was received with wide acclaim around the world.

The Constitution of Kenya, promulgated in 2010, is the supreme law of the land.


Please click on the following links to visit the Counties’ websites: 

BaringoBometBungomaBusia, Elgeyo Marakwet, Embu, Garissa, 

Homa Bay, Isiolo, Kajiado, Kakamega, Kericho, Kiambu, Kilifi, 

Kirinyaga, KisiiKisumuKituiKwale, Laikipia, LamuMachakos

MakueniMandera, Marsabit, Meru, Migori, MombasaMuranga

Nairobi,Nakuru, Nandi, Narok, Nyamira, Nyandarua, Nyeri, 

Samburu, SiayaTaita-TavetaTana RiverTaraka Nithi

Trans-NzoiaTurkanaUasin-GishuVihigaWajirWest Pokot


Kenya Counties (Map by Kenya Weekly Post) 


History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog