History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Discussion

Kigyezi, which used to be a single district, is now divided into 6 districts that are under the direct control of the Central Government of Uganda. The districts are Kabale, Kanungu, Gisoro (Kisoro), Rubanda, Rukiga  and Rukungiri.

The 6 districts correspond to the old 6 counties of Kigyezi. These counties were:

Bufumbira (Gisoro/Kisoro)  – Headquarters: Kisoro

Kinkizi (Kanungu)    – Headquarters: Kanungu

Ndorwa  (Kabale)     – Headquarters: Kabale

Rubanda (Rubanda) – Headquarters: Murole

Rujumbura (Rukungiri)- Headquarters: Rukungiri

Rukiga (Rukiga) – Headquarters: Mparo

The 6 districts of Kigyezi are divided into the following administrative units called sub-counties (amagomborora) or LC III:

Kabale District: Kabale Kitesheni (Kiteeseni or Station), Kyanamira, Maziba, Buhara, Kamuganguzi, Rubaya and Kitumba.

Kanungu District: Kihiihi, Kambuga, Kiirima, Rutenga and Kayonza.

Kisoro District: Nyabwishenya, Bukimbiri, Nyakabande, Chahi, Nyarusiza, Busanza.

Rubanda District: Ikumba, Muko, Bubaare, Bufundi, Hamurwa, Ruhiija.

Rukiga District: Kashambya, Rwamucuucu, Kamuheesi (Kamwezi), Bukinda. (Nyakishenyi and Nyarushanje were part of Rukiga, but they were transferred to Rujumbura (Rukungiri) many years ago.)

Rukungiri District: Bugangari, Ruhinda, Nyakagyeme, Kagunga, Buyanja and Kebisooni.

The political parties at district level are branches of the countrywide parties. They have no autonomy and are controlled by the party leaders in Kampala. The three political parties with a significant presence in Kigyezi are the Alliance for National Transformation (Alliance or ANT), Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) and the National Resistance Movement (NRM.)  Due to economic hardship faced by the majority of the residents of the districts, party activities at district level often look up to Kampala for funding. This gives inordinate control of the centre over these party branches.

Each district has the following key leaders:

Elected Local Council V

Chairperson of the Local Council V

District Cabinet

Resident District Commissioner (representing the president)

Chief Administrative Officer

District Internal Security Officer

District Health Officer

District Education Officer

Kigyezi has members of the Uganda parliament representing 12 constituencies, plus 6 district women representatives.  The region has consistently been well represented in the national cabinet. Two Banyakigyezi (Amama Mbabazi and Ruhakana Rugunda) have served as prime minister of Uganda. Emmanuel Tumusiime Mutebile, the current Governor of the Bank of Uganda is a native of Kabale.

Notwithstanding the passionate debates and partisan competition at district and  national levels, the people of Kigyezi have been brought together as one under the International Community of Banyakigyezi (ICOB).  Visit www.abanyakigezi.net for information about ICOB.


History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Discussion