History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog


Yoweri Kaguta Museveni (1986)


Edward Ssekandi (2011)

Prime Minister

Ruhakana Rugunda (2015)

Leader of the Opposition

Mugisha Muntu, President, Forum for Democratic Change (2012)

 Political Parties

There are 29 registered political parties and organizations. The main parties:


The National Resistance Movement (NRM) led by President Yoweri Museveni took  power in 1986 and has ruled the country since then. In July 2005, a constitutional amendment lifted presidential term limits, enabling President Museveni to seek re-election.

Museveni was declared winner of presidential elections that were held in 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011 and 2016. The results of the 2001, 2006 and 2016 elections were challenged in court. In each case, the judges dismissed the petitions.

The Uganda Parliament  is the legislative branch of the government. Its members are elected every five years. It is headed by a speaker and a deputy speaker.

Parliament Building Kampala
Newly completed Uganda Parliament Building, Kampala, 1962

The Judiciary , headed by the Chief Justice, forms the third arm of the government.

The Constitution of the Republic of Uganda  was promulgated by the Constituent Assembly in 1995, with an  Amendment in 2000 and more Amendments in 2005


Uganda is divided into 124 administrative districts. By July 1, 2019, the total number will have increased to 135 districts. Each district has an elected Local Council V whose chairperson is its political head.




History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog