History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog


John Pombe Joseph Magufuli (2015-)

Vice President

Samia Suluhu Hassan (2015- )

Prime minister

Majaliwa Kassim Majaliwa (2015- )

President of Zanzibar

Ali Muhamed Shein (2010 -)


The Republic of Tanzania is multiparty democratic federal union of Tanganyika and Zanzibar .

The Executive consists of a President, Vice  President, Prime Minister  and cabinet. The semi-autonomous Zanzibar Archipelago is led by its own  president.

Tanzania is a multi-party parliamentary democracy. The Parliament of Tanzania (Bunge) is a unicameral house with 324 seats. 236 are directly elected on mainland Tanganyika. 75 are reserved for women who are chosen by their political parties in proportion to the votes garnered in the general elections. 10 are presidential nominees. The Zanzibar House of Representatives elects 5 representatives to sit in the federal parliament.  The MPs serve a 5-year term. Zanzibar has its own parliament and cabinet.

Political Parties

The Judiciary is headed by the Chief Justice who presides over the Court of Appeal  and the Judiciary 
Union Court of  Tanzania Mainland  and Zanzibar
 Appellate Jurisdiction.

Tanzania Constitution 


History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog