History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog

Dr. Mulera - UgandaRegion: East African Community

Capital City: Arusha, Tanzania
Total Area: 1,818,061 sq. km.
Area under water: 113,547 sq. km.
Area (land): 1,704,514 sq. km.
Population: 150 million people

The East African Community is a regional intergovernmental organization of the six Partner States: Republic of Burundi, Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda, Republic of South Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Republic of Uganda.

The six Partner States cover the easterly region of Equatorial Africa. They are bordered by Somalia, Ethiopia and  Sudan on the north; Congo and Zambia on the west; Malawi and Mozambique on the south; and the Indian Ocean on the east. They cover an area about 18 percent the size of Canada, 19 per cent the size of the United States, five times the size of Germany, eight times the size of the United Kingdom and 1.5 times the size of South Africa.

Details: EAC Facts and Figures

Major Cities

EAC Headquarters: Arusha, Tanzania

Capitals of the Partner States: Bujumbura (Burundi), Nairobi (Kenya), Kigali (Rwanda), Dodoma (Tanzania), and Kampala (Uganda).  Dar-es-Salaam is the largest city and commercial capital of Tanzania. The capital of South Sudan is Juba.


History | Politics | Economy | Culture | Tourism | Gallery | Blog